Land as free as the wind
Originally named Mercer as a water stop on the railroad, the town was incorporated in 1917, changing its name to Peetz in honor of pioneer homesteader Peter Peetz. In its busiest years, it had over 50 businesses and 450 residents. The present town hall, formerly a bank that survived the Great Depression, still has the original vault and teller counters. At the corner of Main and Railway is an old filling station, with the pump foundations along the street still visible, and the old kerosene pump at the side. Also of interest is the Catholic Church at 621 Logan. Bradi Barth, a Belgian artist, painted the windows and later recreated them in stained glass. One of the early churches was cut in two and was used to make two similar houses on Logan Street. Several thriving businesses still exist in Peetz, as does a vibrant public school system that serves grades K-12.